Phil Collins (Atlantic Recs) releases Going Back

Due out Sept 28, 2010 in the US, the former member of Genesis is releasing a covers album.  It has reached #4 in the UK.  The album is a compilation of Motown and Soul Standards.  He is previously known for recording covers of Motown hits earlier in his career such as the #1 hit “You Can’t Hurry Love“.  Despite no longer being able to play drums because of a spinal surgery and encountering some permanent hearing loss, Collins has made a remarkable album with every attempt to keep the songs sounding exactly like the originals.

Track listing:

1. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)” (Norman Whitfield/Edward Holland, Jr.) 2:28
2. (Love Is Like A) Heatwave” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 3:03
3. Uptight (Everything’s Alright)” (Clarence Paul) 3:03
4. “Some Of Your Lovin'” (Gerry Goffin/Carole King) 3:20
5. “”In My Lonely Room“” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2:25
6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2:59
7. Blame It On The Sun” (Stevie Wonder/Syreeta Wright) 3:27
8. Papa Was A Rolling Stone” (Whitfield/Barrett Strong) 6:44
9. Never Dreamed You’d Leave In Summer” (Wonder/Wright) 3:00
10. Standing in the Shadows of Love” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2:41
11. “Do I Love You” (Peter Anders/Phil Spector/Vincent Poncia Jr.) 2:50
12. Jimmy Mack” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2:56
13. Something About You” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2;47
14. Love Is Here and Now You’re Gone” (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2:40
15. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever” (Ivy Jo Hunter/Wonder) 2;48
16. Going To A Go-Go” (Warren Moore/William Robinson, Jr./Robert Rogers/Marvin Tarplin) 2:49
17. “Talking About My Baby” (Curtis Mayfield) 2:47
18. Going Back” (Goffin/King) 4:36