ASCAP Awards 2010

Songwriters of the year: Coldplay

Song of the year: ‘Viva La Vida’ (Coldplay)

Vanguard Award: Taio Cruz **An unusually poor choice considering the sometimes scandalous or R-Rated themes of his music or frequent use of club themes.  (In 2009 this was awarded to The Killers — it is given to bands which help shape music for the future)

College Award: ‘Everybody Wants to Be On TV’ (Scouting For Girls) **Also an unusually immoral song.