FIRST LISTEN: ‘Foundling’ by David Gray (Mercer Street/Downtown/Polydor Recs)

Foundling

The album (released Aug 16) is David Gray’s nineth album.

Described as a “private record”, Gray states that he has “never taken the dynamics [as] low as I have done on this record. I had to have faith in writing and understatement – the things I hold as my strengths. I’m as proud of it as anything I’ve done.” Gray’s commercial expectations, however, are low: “This record is going to disappear off the face of the earth, bar some freak occurrence.” Foundling is described as “the closing chapter for Draw the Line, and…needs to be presented in a different way.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

